A Resolution I Can Live With!

New Year’s Resolutions.  How many years do you make them in hopes of fixing something that you think is broken or with the idea that by keeping them you will somehow improve your life?  Very few resolutions can do all that, even if they were kept longer than the dried up Christmas tree in the corner of the room.  This year is different.  Along with a few typical “self-improvement” resolutions, I decided to make a few resolutions that would be fun to keep.  For example, I’ve made a resolution to drink at least one bottle of non-Washington wine a month.  I realized the other day that the wine I drink is almost all  from Washington.  As a result, wines from other regions can sometimes taste “different.”  This happened to me when I lived in California too, only with California wines.  When I moved back to Washington the wines here almost tasted sweet to me.  They sort of reminded me of…and this is going to be a stretch and prove how very little I know about wine…they sort of reminded me of late harvest wines.  Not all of them, but some of my favorite big reds from Red Mountain.  Now that I’m used to (and loving) my big/ripe Red Mountain reds again, other wines sometimes taste light, or thin.  I used to love lighter style reds and would like to stretch my palate a bit in hopes of appreciating them more again.  I was lucky enough to get a great Christmas gift that will help with this resolution.  My dad got me a case of wine from The Wall Street Journal.  Yep, you read that right – The Wall Street Journal.  They put together a mixed case of wines from all over the world…perfect for my new and favorite New Year’s Resolution.  Cheers to a New Year and a resolution I can live with!

Leave a Reply

